South African Cricket team reaches Karachi for test and T20 series

South African cricket team has arrived Karachi through chartered flight at Jinnah International Airport. Proteas came to Pakistan after 14 years.

South African cricket team has come to Pakistan first time since 2007 tour. At that time, current South African coach Mark Boucher was a member of South African squad.

South Africa is scheduled to play two tests matches at Pakistan. First one at National Stadium Karachi from 26 January 2021 and another one at Rawalpindi cricket stadium from February 4th.

21 members Proteas squad will be allowed to train in the biosecure bubble until their covid results come cleared. They are staying at a local hotel and will be training at gymkhana club Karachi until the final covid result before the start of the series. Luckily before departure, all the squad members have cleared the covid results twice.

After test series, a three match T20I series is also scheduled to be played on 11, 13 and 14 February in Lahore.

The South African squad is excited and much satisfied with the security protocol they are provided with. Coach Mark Boucher stated to media before departing for Pakistan:

 We’ve had our (security) guys go there and do a recce of the situation and they have said it is safe, So from my side there are no issues, we have to get back there and start playing cricket.

South African cricket team head coach confident to play in Pakistan
Proteas head coach, Mark Boucher satisfied to play South African cricket team in Pakistan

Visitors are pleased with the foolproof security they are receiving. The squad led by Quinton De Kock is hopeful for a good play at Pakistani grounds.

Pakistani fans who were deprived of the enjoyment of home cricket for a decade are delighted to have international cricket back at their home. They consider it a positive sign for the Pakistan cricket.

South African 21-men squad for Test series:

Quinton de Kock (c), Temba Bavuma, Aiden Markram, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Kagiso Rabada, Dwaine Pretorius, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Rassie van der Dussen, Anrich Nortje, Wiaan Mulder, Lutho Sipamla, Beuran Hendricks, Kyle Verreynne, Sarel Erwee, Keegan Petersen, Tabraiz Shamsi, George Linde, Daryn Dupavillon and Marco Jansen

Pakistani 20-men squad for Test series:

Babar Azam (c), M. Rizwan (v,w), Abid Ali, Imran Butt, Abdullah Shafique, Azhar Ali, Fawad Alam, Kamran Ghulam, Salman Ali Agha, Saud Shakeel, Faheem Ashraf, M. Nawaz, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan, Yasir Shah, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Tabish Khan.

ALSO READ: PCB announces 20-men squad for test VS South Africa

Iqra Ghazal

I'm a graduate. Still learning with each and everyday. I like to write blogs particularly cricket blogs.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button