Shaheen Shah Afridi Becomes the Youngest Captain to win PSL Trophy

Shaheen Shah Afridi Becomes the Youngest Captain to win PSL Trophy:

After a wait of 7 long years, Lahore Qalandars finally won their first ever Pakistan Super League Trophy under the captaincy of Shaheen Shah Afridi. Lahore defeated the defending champions Multan Sultans in the all important final. The start for Lahore in the final wasn’t that good, but Mohammad Hafeez’s half century rescued them, and then David Wiese and Harry Brook added more trouble for Multan Sultans in the first innings.

Multan Sultans were mentally never there after the incredible comeback of Lahore Qalandars. In the chase of 181, apart from Khushdil Shah none of the Multan Sultans batsman could cross the 30 run mark. Even their most consistent batsmen, Shan Masood and Mohammad Rizwan failed to deliver. Skipper Shaheen Shah Afridi led the charge with the ball with 3 wickets, while Hafeez and Zaman Khan took 2 wickets each.

Shaheen Shah Afridi became the youngest captain to win the PSL Trophy. Shaheen won the trophy at the age of 21 years as captain. Before him, big names like Brendon McCullum and Mohammad Hafeez had captained Lahore Qalandars but failed to win the trophy. However, Shaheen Shah Afridi in his first stint won the trophy for Lahore Qaladars.

Following is the list of players who won the PSL in their first ever season as captain:

NameTeam and Year
Misbah-ul-HaqPSL 2016 with Islamabad United
Darren SammyPSL 2017 with Peshawar Zalmi
Mohammad RizwanPSL 2021 with Multan Sultans
Shaheeen Shah AfridiPSL 2022 with Lahore Qalandars

The best batsman award of PSL 7 was given to Fakhar Zaman. The best bowler was Shadab Khan, while Man of the tournament award went to Mohammad Rizwan. Khushdil Shah became the best fielder of the tournament and the best all-rounder as well.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button