New Zealand announce squad for T20I series against Pakistan

New Zealand announced two different squads; one for the first T20I and one for the Second and Third T20Is against Pakistan starting from 18th December. Due to the unavailability of some important players in the first game, NZ named two different squads. 

Squad for 1st T20I

Mitchell Santner (c), Martin Guptill, Todd Astle, Doug Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Jacob Duffy, Scott Kuggeleijn, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner.

Squad for 2nd and 3rd T20I

Kane Williamson (c), Martin Guptill, Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Kyle Jamieson, Scott Kuggeleijn, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee.

Unavailability for players

Williamson is unavailable for the 1st T20I agaisnt Pakistan as he returns home for the birth of his first child. Although he’s likely to return and captain the remaining two T20Is.

NZ fast bowler Lockie Furgeson is unavailable for selection due to an injury.

New Zealand make a tough decision of dropping their most experienced player Ross Taylor;

“This was, as you’d imagine, a very tough decision as Ross has been a consistent performer for us, but unfortunately we just couldn’t find room in the squad for him due to the quality and form of the other batsmen,” said chief selector Gavin Larsen in his statement.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button