India’s 15-man T20 World Cup squad has been announced by the BCCI.

India’s 15-man T20 World Cup squad

On October 24, India will kick off their campaign against archrivals Pakistan.

The BCCI has named India’s 15-man roster for the forthcoming T20 World Cup, which will be held in the UAE and Oman. There aren’t many shocks in the lineup, with Virat Kohli poised to lead India and Rohit Sharma remaining as his deputy. Shikhar Dhawan, who led the Men in Blue on their tour of Sri Lanka in July, did not make the 15-man team, thus KL Rahul will almost certainly begin the innings. Interestingly, MS Dhoni has been named as the team’s WC mentor.

ALSO READ: Big names dropped as PCB announce squad for the World Cup

India has been placed in Group 2 with archrivals Pakistan, New Zealand, and Afghanistan, with two more teams to be added during the qualifying phase. Suryakumar Yadav has been included in the squad following his much-anticipated international debut against England earlier this year, as well as his strong performance in Sri Lanka.

The two all-rounders in the lineup are Ravindra Jadeja and Hardik Pandya, both of whom can take the game away from the opposition in the death overs. It remains to be seen whether Pandya will be able to bowl in the World Cup soon after the Indian Premier League (IPL), but he will still contribute significantly with the bat for the side.

Ravi Ashwin is given a chance, while Shikhar Dhawan is left out.

India's 15-man T20 World Cup squad
India’s 15-man T20 World Cup squad

Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah will lead the pace bowling assault, while Ravi Ashwin will be the main spinner in the blockbuster event. Rahul Chahar and Varun Chakravarthy are also on the team.
India squad for T20 World Cup 2021: Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (VC), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohd Shami.

Standby players: Shreyas Iyer, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar.

Team India’s complete schedule ICC T20 World Cup 2021:

24th October 2021: India vs Pakistan, 7:30 PM IST, Dubai

31st October 2021: India vs New Zealand, 7:30 PM IST, Dubai

3rd November 2021: India vs Afghanistan, 7:30 PM IST, Abu Dhabi

5th November 2021: India vs B1 (qualified team), 7:30 PM IST, Dubai

8th November 2021: India vs A2 (qualified team), 7:30 PM IST, Dubai

Sharjeel Ahmad

Hey guys, my name is Syed Sharjeel Ahmad. I am an intermediate student and I am fond of writing articles about cricket.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button