Fawad Alam was looking more and more comfortable as he continued playing and it looked like that he and Azhar Ali might take Pakistan out of the pit when Dom Bess dismissed Alam from a caught behind.
Fawad Alam is wrongly dismissed in Pak vs Eng day 3
Although Azhar went on to make 141 runs he needed someone to stand with him on the crease and give.Pakistan some hope.
Jos Butler who scored a brilliant century in the first innings was applauded for his improvement in the wicketkeeping department.
It was Sky Sports cricket who were analyzing what Jos Butler did differently that now he is comfortable in what he’s doing when a slo-mo of the Fawad Alam dismissal caught the eyes of social media and Pakistani fans. It could be easily seen that Butler’s gloves were in front of the wicket even before the ball hits Fawad’s bat.
Law 27.3: “The wicketkeeper shall remain wholly behind the wicket at the striker’s end from the moment the ball comes into play until a ball delivered by the bowler touches the bat or person of the striker or passes the wicket at the striker’s end. In the event of the wicketkeeper contravening this law.
The striker’s end umpire shall and signal no ball as soon as applicable after the delivery of the ball.”In this case, Fawad Alam should have not been given out.