All What You Need to Know About National T20 Cup

National T20 Cup 2021 Kicks Off from 23rd September 2021:

After being disappointed by England and New Zealand Cricket, the Pakistani fans have something to cheer about. The National T20 Cup 2021 kicks off tomorrow, 23rd September 2021, Thursday. Pakistani fans will witness all top quality local stars in this tournament that will be staged in Rawalpindi and Lahore. The tournament will be played on double round robin format. Six Teams will feature in the tournament. Following is the list of the captains of this season:

Central PunjabBabar Azam
SindhSarfaraz Ahmed
Southern PunjabSohaib Maqsood
NorthernShadab Khan
Khyber PakhtunkhwaMohammad Rizwan

The National T20 Cup was first played in 2005. Sialkot Stallions is the most successful team in the event’s history with 6 titles to their name. Following are some more records and their holders in the event’s history:

RecordRecord Holder
Most RunsKhurram Manzoor (2643 Runs)
Most WicketsSaeed Ajmal (89 Wickets)
Most SixesSohaib Maqsood (91 Sixes)
Fastest CenturyKhushdil Shah (45 Balls)
Highest Individual ScoreKamran Akmal (150 vs Lahore Whites)

The six teams participating in the tournament are, Northern, Central Punjab, Southern Punjab, Sindh, Balochistan and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. Below is their performance in the previous edition of the National T20 Cup:

TEAMLast Year’s Position
Khyber PakhtunkhwaChampions
Southern PunjabRunners Up
SindhSemi Finalists
NorthernSemi Finalists
Central PunjabGroup Stage
BalochistanGroup Stage

There will be plenty of Action in 2021 edition of National T20 Cup. The World T20 Squad members of Pakistan will also get some vital practice ahead of the mega event. The tournament will kickoff with a double header. The first encounter will be Balochistan vs Northern, while in the second game, Defending champions Khyber Pakhtunkhwa will clash with Central Punjab.

Read: Complete Schedule and Squads of National T20 Cup 2021.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button